President Joseph R. Biden, Jr. Approves South Carolina Disaster Declaration

Today, President Joseph R. Biden, Jr. declared a major disaster exists in the state of South Carolina and ordered federal assistance to supplement state and local recovery efforts in areas affected by Hurricane Ian during the period from September 25 to October 4. 2022.

The President’s action makes federal funding available to those affected in Charleston, Georgetown and Horry counties.

Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the catastrophe.

Federal funding is also available to eligible state and local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-share basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by Hurricane Ian in Berkeley. , Charleston, Clarendon, Georgetown, Horry, Jasper and Williamsburg counties.

Finally, federal funding is available on a cost-share basis for risk mitigation measures across the state.

Deanne Criswell, Administrator, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), Department of Homeland Security, has appointed Kevin A. Wallace, Sr. as the Federal Coordinating Officer for Federal Recovery Operations in affected areas.

Additional designations may be made at a later date at the request of the State and justified by the results of other damage assessments.

Residents and business owners who have suffered losses in designated areas can start applying for assistance at www.DisasterAssistance.govby calling 800-621-FEMA (3362) or using FEMA App. Anyone using a relay service, such as video relay service (VRS), captioned telephone service, or others, can give FEMA the number for that service.



Comments are closed.